Minutes 23 April 2010 AGM

M25 Consortium of Academic Libraries Annual General Meeting
Friday 23rd April 2010
Cass Business School, City University


Bethan Adams (St George’s University of London), Nick Bevan (Middlesex University), Emma Bull (Queen Mary, University of London), Stephen Bowman (Ravensbourne College of Design and Communication), Julie Brittain (Institute of Development Studies) Elizabeth Chapman (London School of Economics and Political Science), Ann Cummings (Brunel University), Ann Davies (Open University, London), Angela Goldfinch (Roehampton University), Robert Hall (London Southbank University), Charles Hoare (British Museum), Kitty Inglis (University of Sussex), Sandy Leitch (Kingston University), Liz Lewis (British Library), Nicky Kershaw (Anglia Ruskin University), Maire Lanigan (City University), Rosemary Lynch (University for the Creative Arts), Julia Munro (University of Reading), Ann Murphy (University of Greenwich), Philip Payne (Birkbeck), Chris Pedley (Heythrop College), Carole Pickaver (University of Kent), Stephen Pickles (Institute of Education), John Robinson (School of Oriental and African Studies), Carole Satchwell (University of Westminster), Jane Savidge (University of Surrey), Debbie Shorley (Imperial College London), John Tuck (Royal Holloway University of London), Michelle Wake (School of Pharmacy), Cathy Walsh (University of East London), Marcus Woolley (University of Bedfordshire), Helen Workman (Oxford Brookes), April Yasamee (Horniman Museum and Gardens).
In Attendance:

John Gilby, Vicky Falconer, Andrew Amato (M25 Support Team)

David Allen (Royal Society of Chemistry), Paul Ayris (University College London), Simon Chaplin (Wellcome Library), Pat Christie (University of the Arts London), Ursula Crow (Buckinghamshire New University), Helen Edwards (London Business School), Richard Golland (Imperial War Museum), Peter Hassell (Royal College of Art), Graham Higley (Natural History Museum), Antony Hopkins (Courtauld Institute), Julie Howell (London Metropolitan University), Simon Jackson (Royal Veterinary College), Caroline Lloyd (London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine), Antony Loveland (Central School of Speech and Drama), Patricia Methven (King’s College London), Christopher Mills (Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew), Cath Morgan (University of Brighton), Christine Muller (University of London Research Library Services), Mary Nixon (Goldsmith’s), Pete Ryan (Canterbury Christ Church University), Bill Sturman (University of Hertfordshire), Geraldine White (Victoria and Albert Museum), Rupert Williams (Science Museum), John Wolstenholme (Thames Valley University).
1. Apologies for absence and welcome to new members

For brevity, apologies were not announced. Nick Bevan (NB) advised that all attendances and apologies would be noted in the minutes.

NB welcomed to the AGM two new representatives: Ann Cummings, of Brunel University, and Simon Chaplin, of the Wellcome Library.
2. Minutes of last meeting

The minutes of the last meeting, held at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine on the 18th June 2009, were formally approved.
3. Steering Group membership

3.1 Election of Chair

It was noted that Nick Bevan was standing down as chair. There has been a single nomination for the post of Chair and the meeting approved the appointment of John Tuck of Royal Holloway University of London as the new Chair of the M25 Consortium.

3.2 Steering Group Vacancies

Two nominations had been received for Steering Group vacancies. The meeting approved the appointment of Angus Brown of Imperial College London, and Bethan Adams of St George’s, University of London to the Steering Group.

3.3 Extension of current terms of office of SG members

Members approved the extension of terms of office for SG members in accordance with the Consortium’s articles of association.
4. Chair’s Report

NB presented the Chair’s report to the meeting outlining developments and requesting approval of the new strategic plan.  The strategic plan was approved by members at the AGM.
5. Update on Key Projects
5.1 Review of Inform25

John Tuck (JT) gave a summary of the review activities. On the basis of findings, JT will present recommendations to the Steering Group for approval in July 2010.

5.2 Review of Marketing Activities

NB reported in Pete Ryan’s (PR) absence. PR has been working on a new strategy for the Marketing and Communications Working Group. One of the changes implemented will be a move from the annual report to focus attention on other activities.

5.3 Directors’ Room

Rosemary Lynch (RL) reported that since the Directors’ Room launch in 2009, 60% of the Consortium membership has signed up. There are on average 2-3 posts a week, and 5 replies, covering a variety of topics. The Director Services Working Group has also been doing the Exchange Programme. To plan for future projects, the group will be undertaking a telephone survey.
6. Development Planning

6.1 Strategic Planning 2010/11 – 2012/13, and key projects 2010/11

NB  presented the strategic planning documents and members approved the Strategic Plan 2010/11 to 2012/13 and key projects 2010/11.
7. Treasurer’s Report

7.1 Audited accounts for 2008/9

NB presented the accounts and financial review from Kingston Smith

CL presented the audited accounts to the meeting audited by Kingston Smith

7.2 Proposed budget and subscription levels for 2010/11

The assembled group approved the proposed budget and subscription levels
8. Constitutional Issues

Sandy Leitch (SL) outlined the proposals made by the Steering Group to replace the Working Group structure of M25 operations to a Task and Finish model. SL explained that this move may require some marginal changes of the articles of association. The meeting approved the move towards task and finish groups and agreed to any necessary changes.
9. Membership

SL informed the meeting that no additional applications for membership had been made.
10. Members’ Issues

No members raised any issues
11. AOB

On behalf of the consortium, SL thanked NB for his work as Chair and previously treasurer of the Consortium, in particular for the achievement of the Consortium gaining Charitable Status.