Minutes 18 June 2009 AGM

M25 Consortium of Academic Libraries Annual General Meeting 
Thursday 18th June 2009, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Bethan Adams (St Georges, University of London), Nick Bevan (M25 Chair, Brunel University), Emma Bull (Queen Mary, University of London), Craig Brough (Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew), Josephine Burt (The Open University in London), Paul Chopla (University of East London), Douglas Dodds (Victoria & Albert Museum), Lise Foster (London South Bank University), Jacqui Gaul (City University, London), Nicky Kershaw (Anglia Ruskin University),  Sandy Leitch (Kingston University), Caroline Lloyd (London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine), Rosemary Lynch (University for the Creative Arts), William Marsterson (Middlesex University), Julia Munro (Reading University), Mary Nixon (Goldsmiths, University of London), Frances Norton (Wellcome Library), Phillip Payne (Birkbeck, University of London), Chris Pedley (Heythrop College, University of London), Stephen Pickles (Institute of Education), John Robinson (SOAS), Elaine Salter (University of Westminster), John Tuck (Royal Holloway), Maureen Wade (London School of Economics and Political Science), John Wolstenholme (Thames Valley University), Helen Workman (Oxford Brookes University), April Yasamee (Horniman Museum & Gardens).

In Attendance:
John Gilby, Genein Cox-De Sousa, Andrew Amato, Claire Hackshall (M25 Support Team).

Stephen Bowman (Ravensbourne College of Design & Communication), ), Julie Brittain (BLDS), Sue Clegg (Roehampton University), Adam Edwards (Roehampton University), Helen Edwards (London Business School), Suzanne Enright (University of Westminster), Richard Golland (Imperial War Museum), Robert Hall (London South Bank University), Peter Hassell (Royal College of Art), Julie Howell (London Metropolitan University), Andrew McDonald (University of East London), Christopher Mills (Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew), Ann Murphy (University of Greenwich), Joanna Newman (The British Library), Carol Pickaver (University of Kent), Pete Ryan (Canterbury Christ Church University), Nicky Whitsed (Open University), Rupert Williams (The Science Museum).

1. Apologies for absence and welcome to new members 
Members were asked to note apologies.
Nick Bevan (NB) welcomed April Yasamee from the Horniman Museum and also noted that the Science Museum Library had joined the Consortium, but that Rupert Williams was unable to attend the meeting.
NB also welcomed Christine Muller as the new representative for ULRLS and Claire Hackshall as the new cpd25 Administrator.
Members received a proposal to change the approval process for new members of the Consortium. Currently the approval of potential members has to wait until the next full Consortium meeting before membership can be agreed, and then the new member would be invited to the following full Consortium meeting. The whole process could take nearly a whole year to complete. It was noted that there had been no occasions when an application recommended by the Steering Group had been rejected by the membership. It was thus proposed that in future the Steering Group would approve applications for new membership and that these would be presented to the following members meeting. This was agreed by members.

2. Minutes of the last meeting 
The minutes of the meeting held on 23 January 2009 at The Orangery, Goldsmiths, University of London, were formally approved. There were no matters arising.

3. Chair’s Report 
NB noted that the current strategic plan was coming to an end and that the Steering Group would now start to draft a new one which would be ready for discussion and approval by next Spring. Any ideas or comments on this should be sent to NB or the M25 Steering Group.

4. Membership of the M25 Steering Group 
4.1. Extension of current terms of office of SG members 
Members approved the extension of terms of office for SG members in accordance with the Consortium’s Articles of Association.
4.2. Election of M25 Secretary 
It was noted that Adam Edwards was standing down as Secretary. There had been a single nomination for the post of Secretary and the meeting approved the appointment of Sandy Leitch as the new Secretary of the M25 Consortium.

5. Frequency of M25 Meetings 
The frequency and timings of M25 meetings were discussed at length and it was agreed that there would be one whole day meeting in April/May each year (the AGM including presentations on a defined theme, etc.), and then a half-day members meeting in September possibly following a workshop format followed by the annual evening networking event for M25 representatives, guests, working & task group members.

6. Update on Key Projects 
6.1. Quality Working Group 
Julie Howell had sent her apologies to the meeting and therefore there was nothing to report under this section.
6.2. WAM25 
Members received a progress report on WAM25 and it was noted that the project team were awaiting confirmation of the grant offer from HEFCE. Once this was in place, the balance of the funding necessary for the 20 month pilot project could be obtained. Once all funding was in place, recruitment of a Project Officer could begin, hopefully by September 2009.
6.3. Digital Platform 
Mary Nixon had circulated details of this project which is investigating collaborating on the acquisition of electronic resources. Members were informed that there would be a late summer meeting for those interested in taking part in this. Anyone who is interested should contact MN by the end of July 2009.

7. Treasurer’s Report 
7.1. Update on Consortium finances 
CL had circulated details of the current financial status of the Consortium. It was proposed and agreed that Kingston Smith LLP be appointed as auditors for a period of three years. Also noted was that the Consortium was budgeting for a deficit next year which reflected the investment in the Directors’ Room, and that this deficit would be met from reserves.
7.2. Proposed budget and subscription levels for 2009/10 
CL presented the proposed budget for 2009-10 which incorporated a proposed 1% increase for 2009/10 subscriptions. This was approved by the members. It was noted that the budget was based on the current model of cpd25 charges being based on the direct costs of the events that it runs.

8. Constitutional Issues 
8.1. Progress report on application for charitable status 
Members received a progress report on the Consortium’s application for charitable status. The M25 Consortium is now a registered company and the Consortium officers are working on relevant papers regarding charity status.
8.2. Changes to the names and remits of working groups 
NB informed members of a change in names of the following Working Groups
• Collaboration and Partnership to Strategic Partnerships WG
• Resource Discovery to Digital Developments WG (subject to the approval of the new Chair of the Group)

9. Members’ Issues 
Nothing was submitted under Members’ Issues.

10. Any other business
Central School of Speech and Drama offered to host the meeting for next April/May.
It was noted that the attendance at this meeting was rather low and ways to improve this in the future were discussed.  Members were encouraged to bring along a senior member of staff to future meetings.
Finally, the following people were thanked for their various contributions to the work of the Consortium:
• Maureen Wade (as former Secretary and overseeing the M25 Support Team)
• Adam Edwards as retiring Secretary
• William Marsterson as retiring Chair of RDWG and Steering Group member
• Genein Cox-De Sousa as M25 Administrator.